2011 Philippine Holidays

December 23, 2010


I'm one of those people who looks forward to long weekends every year. I was able to enjoy quite a lot of it this 2010. But, as disappointing as this may sound to me at least, there are lesser long weekends for the year 2011. 


On December 20, PNOY signed proclamation No. 84 that declares THE REGULAR HOLIDAYS, SPECIAL (NON-WORKING) DAYS, AND SPECIAL HOLIDAY (FOR ALL SCHOOLS) FOR THE YEAR 2011. [Get hold of Proclamation No. 84 copy here]

Regular Holidays: 
New Year’s Day – January 1 (Saturday)
Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Saturday)
Maundy Thursday – April 21
Good Friday – April 22
Labor Day – May 1 (Sunday)
Independence Day – June 12 (Sunday)
National Heroes Day – August 29 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Wednesday)
Christmas Day – December 25 (Sunday)
Rizal Day – December 30 (Friday)

Regular holidays are fixed holidays such as Christmas Day and New Year. The dates do not vary. These are holidays with or without announcements from government. Regular Holiday means no class, double pay or premium pay for employees who are required to work on that day. 


Special (Non-Working) Days:
Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Sunday)
All Saints Day – November 1 (Tuesday)
Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Saturday) C. Special Holiday (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Friday)

Special Non working Holidays are Holidays declared or announced by the government. Dates may change and vary. i.e there was a mandate that some national holidays would be moved to the nearest Monday.

In 2011, for working girls and boys only three holidays gives us the long weekends: 
  1. Maundy Thursday and Good Friday
  2. National Heroes' Day (August 29, the last Monday of August)
  3. Rizal Day (December 30, Friday).


For students, there are four long weekends. From the three holidays, the EDSA Revolution Anniversary on February 25 (Friday) is added.

BTW, we enjoyed 11 long weekends this 2010. Sadly, the new president is not as generous with the previous one. >.<


love, now and always, 

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Popular Posts

Flickr Images